James M. Buchanan

James M. Buchanan


Nationality: American

Historical Period: The 20th Century and Beyond

In 1986 James M. Buchanan (1919-) was awarded the Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences. Universally respected as one of the founders of the “public choice” school of economics, he is the author of numerous books and hundreds of articles in the areas of public finance, public choice, constitutional economics and economic philosophy. He is best known for such works as The Calculus of Consent, The Limits of Liberty, The Power to Tax, and The Reason of Rules. Buchanan has devoted himself to the study of the contractural and constitutional basis for the theory of economic and political decision making.

See the Liberty Matters online discussion of James Buchanan: An Assessment

Read the Liberty Classic What Should Economists Do? An Appreciation from Econlib

See also at our sister website Econlib:

  • the Concise Encyclopedia of Economics entry on Buchanan

Quotes from James M. Buchanan:

Titles from James M. Buchanan:

Associated with: